Regions of Iceland

Tourist information about the Westfjords Tourist Information about north Iceland Tourist Information about east Iceland Tourist information about south Iceland Tourist information about Reykjanes Tourist Information about the interior of Iceland Tourist information about west Iceland Iceland Travel and Tourist Information
Click on the map for further details
For the purpose of tourism Iceland is usually divided into 7 regions. Each region has it's particular attractions and special features. Most of the regions are accessible year round with the exception of the West Fjords and the Interior.
During the wintertime parts of the West Fjords become closed of for traffic due to heavy snow and the Interior is only accessible during the summertime except for specially equipped vehicles driven by professionals.

Southwest Iceland - Reykjanes peninsula
International airport, capital area and home to the majority of the island's population

West Fjords 
Stunningly beautiful albeit remote area. One of the most sparsely populated areas of Iceland with rugged geography and fantastic nature.

West Iceland 
The gate way to the center of the earth; Snæfellsjökull glacier, whale watching and gorgeous hiking scenery, the gentle giants (whales) of Breiðafjörður with it's innumerable islands.
North Iceland 
Lake Mývatn and it's wonderful and dramatic lava formations. Massive waterfalls and the capital of the north Akureyri.

East Iceland 
The floating icebergs of Jökulsárlón by themselves make the 4 hour drive from Reykjavík worth the visit. The fjords and the adorable fishing villages are just an added bonus.

South Iceland 
Tourist country, here you'll find all the most popular tourist attractions (the Golden Circle), including the Þingvellir national park, Gullfoss waterfall and the Geysir geyser (see where the name comes from?)

Massive black sand deserts, wonderful arctic flora and fauna topped with glaciated mountains and sprinkled with streams and hot springs.